Writing with boundaries

Hashnode is a great developer blogging platform and it opens opportunities for developers to easily publish their articles and create content without having to build a blog website and for free.

However, because it markets itself as a dev blogging platform, unsurprisingly it mostly attracts developers and contains mostly technical articles and tutorials on developer content. That's a pretty good niche, but it's pretty narrow. I'm a developer but I don't want to be constrained by the boundaries of "niche" or "algorithm" when it comes to my blog.

I want to write about stuff that (I think) are helpful but I also want to share my thoughts on a lot of other things as well. I want to document stuff I’m learning (lately I’ve been considering learning in public) whether they’re raw notes or edited in a more digestible format. I want to share my opinions on stuff I like, don’t like or just feel needs to be out there.

Of course, I could just use Twitter and do most of that on Twitter(or build my own blog website) and let the algorithm surface my content (mostly the controversial ones) but I no longer use Twitter (though my account is still active, and NO it’s not because of Elon) and I don't want to deal with the hassle of building my own blog website and maintaining it. I want all that to be on my (this) blog. No one has to read it, although eventually someone will and hopefully learn something from it.

I like what swyx does with his blog and I want to make something relatively similar, a blog that's not bound by a niche of tutorials about a technology or set of technologies. I do a lot of stuff and I’m interested in a lot of stuff. I want to put most of that stuff out there. You never know, maybe one of those ideas, thoughts or opinions will resonate with someone from across the web or on the other side of the globe.